Our forum runs best with JavaScript enabled !

Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program in 2024

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program in 2024 Empty Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program in 2024

Post by 8DonCo Tue Jul 25, 2023 12:41 pm

Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program is slated to go live in 2024. Here’s how much it will cost and what the application process will entail when it comes into effect.

Which European nations will require ETIAS authorization to visit?

The new travel authorization applies to those entering any member country of Europe’s Schengen Zone. Currently, that includes 22 countries that are also members of the European Union, four non-EU countries, plus three European micro-states. That means that you’ll need to register to enter:
  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Monaco

  • Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • San Marino

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Vatican City

While Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus aren’t currently Schengen countries, they are in the process of joining and will be subject to the same requirements once they do.
However, there are still many European nations that aren’t part of the Schengen Zone, mostly in Eastern Europe. That means you’ll be able to travel to Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Türkiye, and Ukraine without an ETIAS registration.

Who will need to obtain ETIAS authorization?

American citizens, as well as travelers from 60 other countries, will require an ETIAS visa waiver to travel to any of the Schengen-zone countries for short stays once the ETIAS program goes into effect. The list of ETIAS-eligible countries includes Canada, Mexico, Australia, and many more. All travelers, regardless of their age, will need their own ETIAS approval in order to travel to Europe’s Schengen-zone countries.

How will travelers apply for ETIAS and how much will it cost?

Once the ETIAS application is available online, it should only take about 10 minutes to fill out, according to ETIAS.com. To apply, you’ll need a valid passport, an email address, and a debit or credit card to pay the nonrefundable 7-euro application fee, which applies to individuals between the ages of 18 and 70. Those under the age of 18 or over 70 still need to have an ETIAS but will not be charged. There are no other fees associated with the program.

How long will the authorization process take?

After you fill out your application online with the personal information on your passport and answer a series of security and health-related questions, your ETIAS application will be processed immediately, and you will receive an email confirming that your ETIAS has been approved within 96 hours or less.

“A small percentage of applications may take up to four weeks to process if additional documentation is required from the applicant. If your ETIAS has not yet been approved and you do not have any other travel authorization, you will not be able to enter a country within the European Union,” according to the ETIAS website.

Will you have to reapply for each trip to Europe?

No, you will not need to reapply after each trip to Europe. After you apply for the first time, your ETIAS authorization will be valid for three years—or until your passport expires, whichever comes first. Because the ETIAS is valid for short-term stays of up to 90 days for both leisure and business travelers, you’ll be able to re-enter Europe multiple times within that three-year period without renewing it, as long as your stay doesn’t exceed 90 days within a 180-day period. Those who want to study or work in Europe will need to apply for a proper work or study visa.

Does this mean I will need a visa to travel to Europe?

ETIAS is not a visa, it’s a travel authorization requirement for visa-free visitors, similar to the U.S. Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA).
The new entry requirement “is more accurately referred to as a visa-waiver. The ETIAS, like the ESTA, is a travel authorization for travelers not requiring a visa to visit Europe. Under the ETIAS, these visitors will undergo additional security checks prior to being permitted to enter the EU. The ETIAS will be mandatory for citizens of such countries as the United States, Australia, New Zealand and Canada,” states ETIAS.com, the landing page for news and information regarding the new travel authorization process.
In other words, ETIAS will only prescreen travelers who do not need a Schengen visa.
According to a fact sheet provided by the European Commission, “Nationals of visa liberalization countries will continue to travel the EU without a visa but will simply be required to obtain a travel authorization via ETIAS prior to their travel.
“An ETIAS travel authorization does not reintroduce visa-like obligations,” it continues. “There is no need to go to a consulate to make an application, no biometric data is collected and significantly less information is gathered than during a visa application procedure.”

Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program in 2024 C7f64202b0357f04c779d805f437c5fc

Europe’s new ETIAS travel authorization program in 2024 JQrjmZ


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum